This is a read-only archive. Find the latest Linux articles, documentation, and answers at the new Linux.com!

Linux.com

Other Topics
Posted Apr 18, 2009 at 8:06:53 PM
Subject: Limiting the RAM Size
Hi Guys, I am fairly new to linux. My system has 8 Gb RAM. When I run the 'top' command it shows RAM usage as 3GB, on startup is shows it as 8 Gb. I don't know why is it showing as only 3Gb total by top command? What I am trying to do is, I have to run some benchmark test and for that I have to limit the RAM size. Someone told me that we can change the RAM size from startup. When I press F2 key to enter into the BIOS setup, it shows the RAM size over there but it does not allow me to modify it. I am not sure if this is the right way to modify the RAM size. I don't know if it matters but I am using Ubuntu 8.10 32 bit Can someone please guide me on this? Thanks a lot in advance.
Back to top Profile Email Website
Reed
Joined Feb 07, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: Apr 18, 2009 10:58:47 PM
It's because you're running 32 bit. You need to run a 64 bit system to access more RAM.
blinky
Joined Jan 08, 2009

Other Topics
Posted: Apr 18, 2009 11:00:36 PM
On 32 bit systems you need to run a PAE enabled kernel or run a 64 bit distribution.

In a world without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates

kevinchkin
Joined Feb 18, 2009

Other Topics
Posted: Apr 19, 2009 12:22:58 AM