This is a read-only archive. Find the latest Linux articles, documentation, and answers at the new Linux.com!

Linux.com

TJ
Other Topics
Posted Jun 27, 2008 at 2:15:44 AM
Subject: dual booting puppy linux and windows
Other than formatting my hard drive and installing ubuntu once on it I am completely new to Linux and what I want to do is to dual boot puppy linux and windows 2000. I have tried using the instructions that came with puppylinux.org however this didn't help me because when i partitioned my har drive, my partition was hda5 not hda2 and when I went to edit menu.lst the two lines that began with "map" that i had to put #'s before were not there. I tried to install grub however, I would like to try another bootloader other than grub or lilo. Possible windows bootloader but I have no idea where to begin on this. If anyone has any other boot lpaders that they think would work well other than the windows boot loader, go ahead and suggest those too. Any help is appreciated.
Back to top Profile Email Website
proopnarine

Joined Apr 03, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: Jun 27, 2008 5:47:25 AM
If you skipped to hda5 without knowing it, then you actually have more partitions on your drive than you realize. You may have a logical partition on there. Have you tried using fdisk to view your partition table?

Take the red pill

Climate Change Blog

Food Weblog

TJ
Joined Jun 27, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: Jun 27, 2008 6:58:52 AM
I used partition magic to make my partition and the installer for puppy only gives me the option to install on hda1 or hda5, but i'll need to check that out. When i was using partition magic though it only showed 2 partitions: the original and the one i made. I'll look again though but it won't be until about saturday.
Bob
Joined Apr 11, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: Jun 28, 2008 7:48:06 AM