This is a read-only archive. Find the latest Linux articles, documentation, and answers at the new Linux.com!

Linux.com

Other Topics
Posted May 30, 2008 at 3:09:46 PM
Subject: How does the SCSI driver and Linux handle tape errors ?
I'm new to Linux but have a strong background in VMS administration (hey, it ain't dead yet !) My question is, both DLT amd LTO tape drives employee read-after-write head designs with CRC firmware. These technologies can generate 2 different types of errors, soft (the CRC was able to correct an error) and hard (CRC can not able to correct the error). Somehow, notification of these error must be sent back to the driver. Does the SCSI driver log these errors and/or pass them on to any application (like gtar) using this device ?
Back to top Profile Email Website
Johannes Truschnigg

Joined Jun 15, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: Jun 15, 2008 7:51:14 PM