This is a read-only archive. Find the latest Linux articles, documentation, and answers at the new Linux.com!

Linux.com

Other Topics
Posted May 29, 2008 at 12:21:17 PM
Subject: Booting DSL?
Hello there, I have recently got the Damn Small Linux disk and I have never used Linux before. I booted the computer with the disk, so it would boot from the CD. I got past the boot setup and then two linux penguins appeared on the screen. After about 10 minutes they were still there and the computer didn't seem to be doing anything. I turned it off and restarted and the same thing happened. Should I wait longer for it to do something or what? Thanks, Danny
Back to top Profile Email Website
thrillriderdan
Joined May 28, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: May 29, 2008 6:34:09 PM
Also can anyone reccomend the best boot setup?
Bob
Joined Apr 11, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: May 29, 2008 8:50:04 PM
It should proceed past the two penguins to scrolling additional text pretty quickly (<10s). Sounds like some failure very early, but I'm not sure at what stage. Did you confirm the MD5sum of the downloaded file? Maybe there's some corruption of the CD. What are the specs of the computer you're attempting to use? DSL has quite good hardware recognition for basic booting (I've had better luck with booting DSL than several other distros), though items like wireless network cards are more problematic (show up later). Graphics support can be a sticking point with older hardware, so try the VESA video driver option.
Ante
Joined Mar 28, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: May 29, 2008 9:56:13 PM
can't offer much as well with that little info. absolutely no text that scrolled? off topic, DSL can't seem to see my ps2 mouse (mainboard is an ECS 651-M), but mleh...
Marcin
Joined May 26, 2008

Other Topics
Posted: May 29, 2008 10:37:38 PM